First Impressions: Tokyo

29 Mar

We arrived in Tokyo a couple days ago and I have to say that I love love love this place. Everything about Tokyo so far is eye opening, fun, tasty, clean, and so technologically advanced! Bidets are not as intimidating either, I have to admit. I feel like Dorothy when she left Kansas and got to Emerald City. Seriously, I’m on cloud nine right now. This is Jerry’s second time, and I think he’s almost as enamored as I am, it’s been 18 years since his last visit.

20120330-082935.jpg

I think Tokyo is the cleanest city that I’ve ever been to. Love it!

The subway system hasn’t been that hard to figure out, especially since they use a very efficient numbering system. Also, the seats on the subway have seat warmers, super awesome!

The convenience stores (Lawson, 7-11, Family Mart) have really tasty food and it’s super cheap! They will warm up your food for you and there is even a section of warm bottled drinks. I had a hot milk tea this morning and it was so delicious.

You can buy baseball tickets using an automated vending machine at Lawson. We’re going to a Giants/Tigers game this weekend, can’t wait!

Nighttime is so much fun because everything is lit up and the atmosphere is just electric (haha, pun intended, I couldn’t help myself).

The intersections are just ginormous. Crossing the street is kind of fun. Dorky, I know!

20120330-083002.jpg

20120330-083017.jpg

Girls here must have high tolerance for the cold, because some of them wear really skimpy outfits haha. Even during the day!

We had to try the automated ordering machine. Jerry wanted udon with shrimp tempura but it wasn’t pictured so we had to match the characters, it was like a puzzle. Luckily I recognize some of the characters because they are also in Chinese.

20120330-083032.jpg

Many people wear SARS masks. I asked an expat about this while we were in line for 2.5 hours at Sushi Dai (the only reason the expat was in line for sushi at a touristy location on a weekday morning was because she had an out of town guest with her). She said it was because there are very limited sick days in Japan, so the masks are a preventative measure.

20120330-082947.jpg
Yep, a 2.5 hour wait. we are going back to the market for the fish auction, but I think we’ll try someplace else, even Sushi Dai was an amazing experience. It’s good to try new things…with shorter lines, ha!

I can’t wait to soak up more of Tokyo. That Shibuya crossing is gonna be something else!

4 Responses to “First Impressions: Tokyo”

  1. msluu March 29, 2012 at 5:04 PM #

    I’m glad you are having a fabulous time! Enjoy! 🙂 I know the Japanese have weird quirks.

  2. lydia March 30, 2012 at 8:47 AM #

    Jeannie, I got chills from reading about how much you love Tokyo. I haven’t been there in almost a decade and seeing how excited the city makes you is bringing back my earlier impressions of Tokyo! Must go soon. haha enjoy the rest of your time there, can’t wait to read more about it!! Living vicariously through you.

  3. Susan March 30, 2012 at 9:24 AM #

    Yessss! Love love loved our time in Japan and I am so glad you are loving it, too!! I always felt safe, everything was clean, people are beyond helpful. Shibuya crossing is like…organized chaos. After crossing yourself, you should hang out at the Starbucks and watch everyone else do the crossing. Have you visited Ginza yet? Fancy grandmas and food basements galore!

  4. Rosalyn March 30, 2012 at 10:44 PM #

    I love everything about Tokyo too. One of these days, we will go back, stay longer and see more of Japan!

Leave a Reply

